Strengthening the ability of the land grant university system to execute its rural development mission
The NCRCRD periodically sponsors or facilitates webinars to help connect rural development researchers and Extension professionals with each other and with stakeholder groups. The NCRCRD sponsored webinars are free and there is no registration.  All webinars are scheduled for Eastern Time.

To participate in our webinars go to: - log in as a Guest and Enter Room.  To nominate a topic contact Rosa Soliz

Upcoming Webinars:

Community Supported Enterprises: Lessons Learned & Opportunities to Preserve or Enhance Social Capital
January 24, 2017 @ 2:00 PM-ET
David Ivan (Michigan State University), Norman Walzer (Northern Illinois University) and Greg Wise (University of Wisconsin)

Placemaking Webinar Series #4

Placemaking as an Economic Development Tool  (February 9, 2017 @ 2:00 PM-ET)
Kurt Schindler, Michigan State University

Community Impacts of Energy Development Webinar Series:
New Voices in Energy Impacts Research: Graduate Research Highlights
(February 16, 2017 @ 2:30 PM-ET)
Dylan Bugden (Cornell University), Bec Colvin (University of Queensland), Emily Grubert (Stanford University) and Shawn Olson-Hazboun (Utah State University)

Deaths of Despair in Pennsylvania and Beyond: A demographer’s Take on Drug, Alcohol and Suicide Mortality in Small City and Rural America
April 11, 2017 @ 12:00 PM-ET
Shannon M. Monnat, Pennsylvania State University

Family Business Contributions to Sustainable and Entrepreneurial Rural Communities over Time

May 17, 2017 @ 1:00 PM
Linda Niehm (Iowa State University),Glenn Muske and Margaret Fitzgerald (North Dakota State University)

Dates and times to be determined:
Successful Disaster Recovery Using the Community Capitals Framework

Gary Goreham (North Dakota State University)

Local Government Fiscal Stress and Innovative Response Strategies
Biswa Das (Iowa State University), John Leatherman (Kansas State University), Judith Stallman (University of Missouri), Craig Maher (University of Nebraska), Mark Skidmore and Eric Scorsone (Michigan State University) and Bonnie Bressers (Miller School of Journalism)

Exploring Programming Opportunities That Help Create Resilient Small City Downtowns
Karl Martin (University of Wisconsin), Greg Wise & Bill Ryan (University of Wisconsin), Tim Borich (Iowa State University) and Ryan Pesch (University of Minnesota)